Mint Hill Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting and Gala

Share this:

On Thursday, November 7, the Mint Hill Chamber of Commerce held its Annual Meeting and Gala at Pine Lake Country Club.  The night was a celebration of the past year and a time to recognize businesses and leaders within the Mint Hill community.

Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Paige McKinney opened the evening by welcoming those assembled and reviewing the many successes of the past year: moving to the new Chamber office, raising nearly $40k through fundraisers like the Spring Tea and Brunch and the Seventh Annual Chamber Golf Classic, awarding three $1000 scholarships to deserving Mint Hill students, partnering with UNC-Charlotte to fill eight internship positions and launching the wildly successful Mint Hill Chamber Pop Up Christmas Shop.

McKinney also looked to the year ahead, eagerly anticipating this year’s Pop Up Christmas Shop on December 14 as well as launching the Chamber’s “Shop Small, Live Local” campaign, and introducing a new and enhanced Chamber of Commerce website.

The night included recognition of the many organizations and individuals who partner with the Chamber.  Mint Hill Commissioner Mike Cochrane received special recognition for going above and beyond to connect Town Hall and the Chamber of Commerce.  Jessi Healey was recognized as Mint Hill Chamber of Commerce 2019 Ambassador of the Year for her instrumental work in launching the new Chamber website and her tireless efforts to recruit new members.  Mint Hill Chamber of Commerce 2019 Partner of the Year went to your very own Mint Hill Times for its work in helping the Chamber grow its membership and exposure in the community.

Joy Greear of Novant Mint Hill Medical Center was the recipient of the Tina Ross Business Leadership Award, which recognizes a local business leader who excels in leadership, growth and involvement, someone dedicated to making an impact not only within their organization but in the larger Mint Hill community.  Greear was chosen from a group of three finalists that included Whitleigh Cook of Mint Hill Dance Center and Tammy Brooks, also of Novant Health Mint Hill Medical Center.

The Chamber thanked the outgoing Board of Directors, which included Phil Angelo, Nate Huggins, Tony Long and Colleen Rhyant.  They also voted on and welcomed this year’s incoming directors: Katherine DePrater of The Gift Workshop, Seth Goldwire of Atrium Health, Tetnika Williamson of Independence High School, and Scott Salisbury of SWS Financial Group.

The Annual Meeting and Gala would not have been possible without the help of numerous sponsors: Presenting Sponsor Atrium Health, Daphne’s Bakery, MESSER Financial Group, 1st Choice Properties, DP Vending, The UPS Store, Pine Lake Country Club, Photographic Elegance, Rent Your Event, Suburban Properties of Charlotte, and The Gift Workshop.  Thanks also go to the Event Committee – Denise Boston, Dina Braun, Kat dePrater, Sandy Harrison, Lisa Kolkmann, Paige McKinney and Colleen Rhyant – and photographers Paul Imirie and Sandy Harrison.

Share this:

Previous article2019-2020 Girls Basketball Preview – Queen’s Grant Stallions
Next articleWine Tasting Finale
Mary Beth Foster
Mary Beth Foster works part time as an essay specialist at Charlotte Latin School and full time as a mom to her five-year-old daughter Hannah and her two-year-old son Henry. Prior to having children, she worked as a high school English teacher for nine years. Most recently, she chaired the English department at Queen's Grant High School. She and her husband have lived in Mint Hill with their children and their cats since 2011. Email: