Five Indy players named to SW4A all-conference

Running Back Davion Nelson. (Ron Morris)
Share this:

The Southwestern 4A Conference has released its 2019 all-conference football team.  The league’s coaches voted on the selections and placed five Independence players on the all-conference team.


Defensive Line: Junior Tyson Clawson who had 85 tackles with18 of them were for a loss.  He had 10 quarterback sacks and 16 hurries. He blocked 2 field goals, caused 2 fumbles and had 1 interception.

Defensive Back:  Senior Shai Wheeler had 40 tackles and 6 interceptions.  He also had 1.5 sacks.


Wide Receiver: Senior Trevor Bryan.  Trevor Bryan scored 10 touchdowns and had 23 catches for 555 yards.  He also scored three 2-point conversions.

Running Back: Junior Davion Nelson had 216 carries for 1,456 yards and  14 touchdowns.  Nelson also had 13 catches for 94 yards.  He passed for 133 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Offensive Line: Senior Melsy Bonilla was an aggressive offensive lineman clearing the way for Indy’s running backs. Also, he was an exceptional pass blocker providing protection for his quarterbacks.

Share this: