By Michele Dotson, Staff Writer
Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.50.03 AM

Students from Queen’s Grant Community School won a Freddie G Excellence in Acting group award at the 2014 Junior Theater Festival, held January 17, 18 and 19 at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta, GA.

The students also collected the Playbill VIP award.  The playbills for their next show will be printed and shipped to them free of charge by Playbill magazine.

Students Garrett Costin and Hannah Snyder were named to the Junior Theater Festival All-Stars, made up of two outstanding performers from each group attending the festival.  The All-Stars performed a song during the closing ceremony for all 4,500 festival attendees.

The Junior Theater Festival offers an opportunity for students and teachers to interact with thousands of others who share their passion for musical theater.  

In addition to presenting a 15-minute selection from a musical, both students and teachers participated in interactive workshops led by Broadway professionals.

The students attending the Junior Theater Festival on behalf of Queen’s Grant were: Max Becker, Kate Bublitz, Kayley Carpenter, Garrett Costin, Kelly Fawcett, Ethan Gallagher, Samantha Kodikara, Logan Lawson, Christopher Lizarazo, Rosa Massey, Tanner Naumann, Ashlyn Ollenberger, Olivia Ramos, Ryley Sadler, Hannah Snyder, Hanna Sprague, Isabella Ubriaco, Macy Walker, and Peyton Walker.