The Mint Hill Times

Photo by Carol Huss

Five individuals were inducted into the Order of the Patriot at Independence High School on May 17. Students include: Jasmine Neely, Jimmy Nikitin and Ebony West. Staff who were inducted: Brigette Dingle and Kelly Lewis.
The Order of the Patriot is an honor organization that honors students who have excelled in leadership, service, and character. Independence’s first principal, Mr. Samuel Haywood founded this organization in 1966. It was Mr. Haywood’s intention to honor students not only for scholastics, but more importantly to honor them for their overall excellence in other areas around school. Administration and faculty, as well as current Order of the Patriot members, select prospective Patriots for induction, which are held twice a year. Staff members are also selected as honorary members for their outstanding contribution to the school.