Butler’s Cierra Burdick named finalist for U19 national team

The Mint Hill Times

Cierra Burdick last year when she signed the letter of intent to play for Tennessee next season. She is standing next to her mother.

Butler High School’s Cierra Burdick was one of 15 finalists who were named to the 2011 USA Women’s U19 World Championship Team, USA Basketball announced last week. Finalists were selected by the USA Basketball Women’s Junior National Team Committee, chaired by Sue Donohoe, NCAA vice president for Division I women’s basketball.

“The fact that so many of these kids had played together for USA Basketball was a factor,” said Donohoe. “Certainly you like kids who have good experience, whether it’s USA Basketball experience or it’s experience playing together. It’s the same situation with any team that we select: what skill sets do those kids bring? How do you mold those skill sets together as one unit in order to win a gold medal.”

Trials were held at the U.S. Olympic Training Center (USOTC) in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The USA U19 team finalists will reconvene on June 1 at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., as part of the ESPN RISE Girls Showcase. The USA will train for four days before facing the Brazil U19 National Team on June 5 (12:30 p.m. EDT). The game will be televised on ESPNU and also shown online at ESPN3.com. Following the USA’s game against Brazil, the final 12-member team will be announced.




Independence High School award winners for 2011

Independence High School announced its list of award and scholarship winners for the school year. The combined scholarships awarded to Independence class of 2011 is $2,499, 330. Other highlights include: Jhymel Byrd (Berea College) was awarded a $123,000 scholarship; Lillian Coffey (Virginia State University) received a $94,200 scholarship; The Leo Club Scholarship went to Mariah Fuller ($500); The Jack Bryan Memorial Scholarship: Tetee Yancy ($500); SECU of Mint Hill “People Helping People” Scholarship: Calvary Diggs ($10,000); Mint Hill Rotary Club: Sierra Colson, $500. Academic Excellence: Michael Moua;  Perfect Attendance Kindergarten thru high school: Brandy McAbee;

The Junior Marshals (top 25 students in the class of 2012) are: Morgan Boyle, Brian Camp, Savannah Carter, Stephanie Cassell, Caterina Cocchieri, Jeffrey Coffman, Meaghen Fowler, Justin Hall, Jordyn Jackson, Carlos Matos, Erin Mullins, Jasmine Neely, Christina Nguyen, Yevgeniy Nikitin, Stuart Polk, Eric Roman, Justin Sanchez, Andrew Skerl, Kevin Sorn, Erin Standley, Amy Vanderplow, Ashley Varnedoe, Benjamin Wetherby, Kaitlyn Williams and Allen Wooten.

See the full list of Indy awards after the break. Continue reading