The Mint Hill Times

The town's website

The Town of Matthews won first place in two categories at the third annual Excellence in Communications Awards presented March 31 at the Historic Cumberland County Courthouse by NC3C, the North Carolina City & County Communicators. The town won for Marketing Tools – a Direct Mail Campaign (Advertising the Town’s Redesigned Website and Social Media) and first place for Communication Technology – the Town’s Website.
Government communications professionals from 14 North Carolina cities and towns won awards.

The awards program was part of the fourth annual NC3C Spring Conference, held March 30-April 1 in Fayetteville. Awards were presented in the categories of TV & Videos, Communication Technology, Special Events, Printed Publications, Most Creative Project
for the Least Amount of Funds, Service Delivery, Marketing Tools, and Communications Plans.

Over the two years the Town of Matthews has worked extensively on a branding plan that included a communications plan, a logo and website redevelopment. This plan is part of the economic development initiative that is underway in Matthews.

“I am very excited that award winning judges from around the U.S. recognize the hard work and thoroughness we have put into our website redesign. We are working hard to ensure that our citizens have current and relevant information on a daily basis,” said
Annette Privette Keller, Matthews Communications Director.

Judges for the NC3C Excellence in Communications Awards were government communication professionals from around the United States, all of whom had previously won first or second-place in the national Savvy Awards, presented annually by the City-
County Communications and Marketing Association. States represented by the judges were Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Texas and Virginia.

The purpose of North Carolina City & County Communicators is to encourage professional development and networking among local governmental communications professionals. The organization was formed in March, 2007 by 27 professional communicators from around the state. Since then, the organization has grown to more than 50 members.