Melanie McRae was one of five CMS who won the National Achievement Scholarship. These students are among more than 800 black American high school seniors across the country who will receive scholarships totaling over $2 million. The list of winners and their high schools:

Myers Park: Kainee Aguilar; East Mecklenburg: David Ayers; Providence: Wiley Davis III, Vance: Khalid Love, and Independence: Melanie McRae.
More than 160,000 students entered the scholarship program when they took the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as high school juniors. In September 2010, approximately 1,600 of the highest scorers were named semifinalists. Requirements for the semifinalists to become scholarship winners included high academic performance, a recommendation from their high school, SAT scores that match the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test performance, and an essay.
The National Achievement Program, conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, is privately financed. It was initiated in 1964 to honor and provide scholarships to promising black American students.