The Town of Matthews won first place for Branding and Logo Development and second place for the Town’s website in the second annual Excellence in Communications Awards.

Over the last year the Town of Matthews has worked extensively on a branding plan that included a communications plan, a logo and website redevelopment. This plan is part of the economic development initiative that is underway in Matthews.

“I am thrilled that award winning judges from around the U.S. recognize the hard work and thoroughness we have put into our branding project. We look forward to fully implementing our branding and economic development initiative over the next few years,” said Annette Privette Keller, Matthews Communications Director.

Government communications professionals from 16 North Carolina cities and towns came away winners in the second annual Excellence in Communications Awards presented Thursday, April 29 in the Davis Theater at the Cabarrus County Arts Council by NC3C, the North Carolina City & County Communicators.

The awards program was part of the third annual NC3C Spring Conference, held April 28-30 in Concord. A total of 38 awards were presented in 21 categories during the banquet. The categories included TV & Videos, Communication Technology, Special Events, Printed Publications, Most Creative Project for the Least Amount of Funds, Service Delivery, Marketing Tools, and Communications Plans.

The top award of the evening, the second annual Chris Coulson Award, went to Glenn Hargett, Communications Director for the City of Jacksonville since 1998. Created in memory of Chris Coulson, former Public Information Officer for Henderson County, who passed away in 2008, the award honors those who have made a significant contribution to the profession of city-county government communications.

In his nomination of Hargett, Alan Covey, Media Specialist for Channel G10 in Jacksonville, cited his broad range of contributions to providing government information to citizens.

“Glenn was the driving force behind the city’s effort to establish cutting-edge technology to communicate with its citizens,” Covey wrote. “In fact, anyone who has known Glenn for very long knows one of his core principles is to ‘serve the citizens in the way in which they wish to be served.’ ”

Hargett was also recognized for his contributions as a volunteer for the community, including the development of the Caring Community effort during the first Gulf War that has served as a model for other military communities for nearly two decades; and founding Onslow Community Ministries, which operates a Soup Kitchen, Homeless Shelter, Free Medical Clinic and a Volunteer Center.

First place awards were presented to the City of Wilson (2), Buncombe County (2), Cabarrus County (2), City of Newton (2), City of Fayetteville (2), City of Hickory, Union County, Town of Holly Springs, City of Rocky Mount (2), Town of Matthews, Town of Chapel Hill (2), City of Greensboro and the Town of Cary.

Second place awards were presented to the Fayetteville Public Works Commission, Cabarrus County (2), City of Wilson, Buncombe County (2), Greensboro Transit Authority, Town of Holly Springs (5), Durham County, City of Rocky Mount (2), Town of Matthews, and the City of Wilmington.

Judges for the NC3C Excellence in Communications Awards were government communication professionals from six states, all of whom had previously won first or second-place in the national Savvy Awards, presented annually by the City-County Communications and Marketing Association. States represented by the judges were Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Texas and Virginia.

More than 45 government communications professionals attended this year’s conference, “A Winning Strategy-Develop Yours,” which examined some award-winning Social Media strategies, the Intersection of Public Record Law and Communication Technology and other issues.

In a general session Friday, April 30, conference attendees elected the following members to serve as officers for 2010: Chairman: Steve Hawley, City of Greenville; Vice Chairman: Mandy Pitts, City of Hickory; Secretary: Judy Rhew Davidson, Buncombe County; and Treasurer: LouAnne Kincaid, Caldwell County.
The purpose of North Carolina City & County Communicators is to encourage professional development and networking among local governmental communications professionals. The organization was formed in March, 2007 by 27 professional communicators from around the state. Since then, the organization has grown to more than 70 members.
For more information about NC3C, visit the website,