Myrick thanks Senators for willingness to give up health care

Representative Sue Myrick (NC-09) today thanked Senators Tom Coburn, David Vitter, Richard Burr and Charles Grassley for their health care amendment to automatically enroll the President, Vice President, Cabinet Members, Administration staff, Members of Congress and Congressional staff into a government-run health care plan should it be signed into law.

“I appreciate these Senators being the voices of reason in the Senate,” said Rep. Myrick.  “It’s only fair that if Congress votes to take away the rights of the American people to make decisions regarding their health care, then those rights should no longer be extended to us.”

Rep. Myrick, along with Reps. Roy Blunt, Phil Gingrey and Lee Terry, introduced a similar amendment in the House during the mark-up of HR 3200 in the Energy and Commerce Committee.  The amendment – which would have also automatically enrolled all Members of Congress, the President and the Vice President into a government-run program – was ruled not germane by committee leadership, and was tabled by a vote of 36-22.

“Actions by the House Majority have shown that they’re more concerned with pushing through a bill for political gain than with considering how it will affect the American people,” said Rep. Myrick.  “It is my hope that our Senators will consider those that they represent before voting to establishing a government-run health care program”.

2 comments on “Myrick thanks Senators for willingness to give up health care
  1. Health care reform is not a government run health care program. This
    Republican talking point is simply a lie that they continue to propogate. Shame on them.

  2. Robin Oden, You do NOT KNOW what you are talking about. This has nothing to do with the Republican party, it has to do with Americans Rights.

    Yours included, so rather than be blind, why don’t you find out what you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>