The National Achievement Scholarship program has named 14 CMS students as 2010 semifinalists. These students are among 1,600 black high school seniors across the country who will compete for Achievement Scholarship awards worth $2.6 million. The list of semifinalists and their high schools:
David W. Butler: Lindsey Barrett; Harding University: Justin Ezeji and Gregory Moore; Ardrey Kell: Xavier Layne and Vashti Robinson; Mallard Creek: Amber McCravy; Myers Park: Richard Nichols and Nicole Yearwood; Northwest School of the Arts: Kayla Carter; Providence: Jarrette Brathwaite, Wesley Brown, Lindsay Johnson and Mecan Williams, and South Mecklenburg: Sydney Steward.
To be considered an Achievement Scholar, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level of the competition by fulfilling several requirements. Students must have an outstanding academic record, be recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier qualifying test performance on the 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) scores. The student must also submit an application that includes information about participation in school and community activities, and education goals.
Approximately 1,300 semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing in the program, and 800 will become Achievement Scholar awardees. The winners will be announced in April. The National Achievement Program, conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, is privately financed without government assistance. It was initiated in 1964 to honor and provide scholarships to academically promising black students throughout the nation.