The National Merit Scholarship program has named 33 Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools students as 2010 semifinalists. At Butler High School, Paul Horton, Sungmin Lim, Katherine Majeski, Jarrod Oliver, Hayley Paytes and Cameron Rogers are still in the running for the prestigious scholarship. Along with the rest of the CMS finalists, they are among 16,000 students across the country who will compete for Merit Scholarship awards totaling more than $36 million. The semifinalists were selected based on their 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®) scores.
The list of other semifinalists and their high schools:
East Mecklenburg: Lydia Hanchett, Bethany Ockerbloom, Gabriela Reed and Grace Yi; Ardrey Kell: Isaac Jeon, Si-Yi Lee and Matthew Stolz; Mallard Creek: Erika Lower; Myers Park: Elizabeth Driggs, Tanvika Gupta, Daniel Klingensmith, Zachary Kobos, David Nenon, Jeffrey Prouty, Diana Settlemyer, Matthew Steyl, Benjamin Sutherland, Leah Taub, Paige Vantassell, Amberli Young and Emily Zhu; North Mecklenburg: Christopher Bradfield and Ian Chesser; Providence: Kaitlin Gray, Diana Kao and Catherine Matulis; and South Mecklenburg: Michael Shutt.
To be considered a Merit Scholar, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level of the competition by fulfilling several requirements. Students must have an outstanding academic record, be recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier qualifying test performance on the PSAT/NMSQT®. The student must also submit an application that includes a self-descriptive essay and information about participation and leadership in school and community activities.
More than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of them will be selected as Merit Scholars. The winners will be announced between April and July 2010.