pict0277The Rotary Club of Mint Hill, at its annual Educational Emphasis Day meeting on May 21, 2009, recognized its selections of the 2009 Teacher of the Year and the four 2009 recipients of its educational grants.   The recipients and Rotarians who led the application/nomination process, as shown from left to right in the photograph are:   Rotarian Ken Cloaninger, grant recipients Nicholas Rabiipour (Butler High School) and Langston Said Mallouky (Independence High School), Teacher of the Year Peter Pickering (Independence High School), grant recipients Candice Kilzer (Cato Middle College High School) and Alina Foksha (Butler High School), and Rotarian John CasaSanta.   (Photo by Rotarian Helius Wong.)

The one time grants are awarded to graduating high school seniors, who live in Mint Hill or its extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ), who plan to further their education as full time students at an accredited college or university.   The awards are based on scholarship, community involvement, strength and determination of character, and financial need.

The nominations for the Teacher of the Year Award are made by Rotarians and members of the Mint Hill community.  The award is intended to honor those individuals who are, not only excellent teachers but who are committed to instilling in their students a lifelong passion for learning and a desire to reach out to serve others.