Anne Marie Radke has received The Golden Anniversary Scholarship in the amount of $6,000 fromrad08.jpg The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. The honor society for women educators promotes excellence in education and personal and professional growth of women educators, leading in the field of graduate scholarships given to members and emphasizing leadership development for its more than 106,000 members in 16 countries. A member of the Society’s Alpha Zeta Chapter in North Carolina, Radke is attending Wingate University, where she is majoring in Educational Leadership and is a member of their first doctoral cohort at the Metro campus. Radke has also been awarded the 2009 Gilbert-McNairy Scholarship of $4,000 from the Eta State Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International. She will receive the state-based scholarship during the Eta State Conference April 25, 2009 in Greensboro. Radke is in her fifth year as principal at Piedmont Middle School in Union County.
Dr. Lace Marie Brogden of Canada, International Scholarships Committee Chairman, announced the International Scholarship recipients following the committee’s recent meeting at International Headquarters in Austin, Texas. “We granted 25 Scholarships of $6,000 each for 2009,” Brogden said.
Recipients must have earned a Masters Degree, be enrolled in a recognized graduate program and have been a Society member for at least three years to qualify for scholarship consideration. Since its scholarship program began in 1940, The Delta Kappa Gamma Society
International has given 944 women educators $3.4 million in scholarships.
In addition to the international scholarships, many state organizations and local chapters have scholarship funds to assist members pursuing graduate study. In 2008 state and chapter organizations provided approximately $386,000 for scholarships for members. At the international level during the same time period, the Society spent $156,000 for scholarships.

The honor organization of key women educators was formed in Austin, Texas, on May 11, 1929, by Dr. Annie Webb Blanton from a nucleus of 12 founders representing all levels of education, kindergarten through university, from various parts of Texas. Professor of rural education at the University of Texas, Dr. Blanton was elected president of the Texas State Teachers’ Association in 1916, the first woman to hold the office. Blanton was also the first woman to serve Texas as State Superintendent of Public Instruction, having been elected to that post in 1918.